Bram Pitoyo, Interlude, Links

Interlude: Type Foundries

Some of my friends were wondering about where on less well known places to get fonts—beyond, say, House Industries, FontShop or FontBureau. I mean, of course they can look at Luc Devroye’s copious bibliotheca about absolutely everything you need to know about typography, but below are some of my personal favorites, in no particular order:

Joshua Darden Studio
Textaxis (sadly, their fonts are not for sale)
Emtype
Hoefler Frere-Jones
Jeremy Tankard Typography
Dalton Maag
Process Type Foundry
village
Fountain
Fontsmith
Laura Meseguer
Vanarchiv
MVB Fonts
DSType
Type Together
MAC Rhino Fonts
Jarno Lukarilla Type Foundry
KLIM Typographic Design
Orange Italic
TheTypeTrust
Cape Arcona Type Foundry
Typotheque
Peter Verheul
Terrestrial Design and Carl’s newly released superfamily, Beorcana.
Titus Nemeth, who worked on Nassim. I don’t know how soon it’s going to be released in, though.
fontfarm
Protimient, whose designer also maintains the only paid but well designed recipe site that I know.
Bionic Systems, which has a really trendwhore aesthetic about it.
Just Another Foundry
Suitcase Type Foundry
Stone Type Foundry by the world renowned Sumner Stone.
P22, which has freaking Gerald Giampa and Jim Rimmer on their staff. Here’s their picture chillin’ out Lanston style with Mr. Stone. God, I’m so geeky when it comes to this kind of stuff.
Font-O-Rama
Underware
fraugerlach
Porchez Typofonderie
primetype, typeface design by Ole Schäfer of FF Info fame.

Speaking of which, I promise that you won’t regret buying the Building Letters 3 CD because it’ll help tsunami affected country (like Indonesia) while stocking you with good typefaces (one of which was designed by yours truly.)

And I’ll close this posting by saying that, sometimes, ‘killing widows and orphans’ are a good thing. Good night.

Standard
Etc., Hermicar Gaxiola, Links

Untitled.

So lately I’ve been just randomly browsing websites and have come across some pretty amazing things. This post is for me to share those amazing finds. Enjoy!

In need of flowers to brighten up your home? Or perhaps, some handmade soap? Well Saipua has what you’re lookin’ for. Ok, so I was kind of kidding with the cheesy questions before, basically I love this place for the visuals. Their website is all about white space, but then again they are selling “clean.”

I love the flower arrangements and the photography. Yum.

Speaking of living spaces, this next one is my ideal living room. I love the colors, the comfy yet modern chairs, the fire place, all the books and not to mention the baby grand .. I am in love. Anyway, this lovely space belongs to Deborah Needleman, who is the editor-in-chief of the greatest magazine ever– Domino.

Alright, you’re gonna think I’m crazy but I also came across some really cute, just adorable, home gadgets/accents/whatever you call ’em. I can proudly say that I have one of those items (the doggie pillow), which Bram gave to me last year and I still haven’t put together.

I like the crazy/cool lamp shades, which came from this place called Squint in London, England. They not only have cool lamp shades but a really cool building and website. Someone else who must be mentioned for cool web design is Anthropologie. I love that store, except I can’t afford anything in there, but regardless still like lookin’. 😉

Ok, one last visually delicious photo that I will leave you with. The Cakegirls are my new found heros. I want cake now, to eat it and decorate it. I will be attempting this sometime soon, although it’s not going to be as pretty. Stay tuned for photos.

Well that pretty much it for me. Stay tuned for more. I guarantee there will be more. Promise.

Standard