Bram Pitoyo, Etc., Links

I Have Been Very Lucky To Have Plenty Of Occasions Where I Worked Alongside Wonderful People And Teams—

—wherein I started to notice patterns from the group members that can determine if:

  1. The project is going to succeed.
  2. We all could learn something and have fun doing it.

Sure, smart & Get Things Done and self-awareness are all important qualities to look for in team members, so is brilliance. But they’re quickly becoming a given in the industry, so you have to look deeper. Ready?

  • Good work ethic. Work ethic is what sort of things one does and how one does it when nobody is there watching. This quality will mostly remain hidden to the public’s eye (it can be otherwise, but the result is usually pretty messy) because nobody will probably know it except for the said individual. But good work ethic is such a rarity (even rarer than the so called ‘brilliance’) that I would recommend you to hire anybody who has it right away and keep him/her happy. It also happens to be the single. Most. Important. Thing. that will bring the project success. Believe me. You can deliver kick ass strategies and heartrending executions all you want, but this quality will make those deliveries consistent.
  • Better than me. No, seriously. If I have to work with someone, I’m going to make sure that he/she can do things better than me (in different or similar areas.) This way, not only can the team produce better results, but I can also learn a thing or two from him/her. I find that a good rule of thumb is to work with or hire somebody that I admire. This quality is somewhat easier to spot, because the ‘more better’ he/she is, the more he/she will scare the team with his/her works. And a scare is good because it forces everyone to stretch him/herself beyond the comfortable.
  • Genuinely good-natured and humble. Look, it seems that everyone in the advertising, marketing and design industry have a big ego and lack an ability to play well (read: giving up his/her ideas to be ripped apart in a brainstorming meeting and then buying the ‘ripper’ coffee afterwards) with each other. I truly think that the world needs a different kind of shop. A shop whose people will actually be nice to everybody while still being genuine at the same time. One that’s built on The Power of Nice (okay, kind of like Kaplan Thaler but with the two above qualities added.)

And there you have it. Good night.

Standard