Bram Pitoyo, Portland Creative/Tech Event Review

The First In A Hopefully Ongoing Series About My Learnings From Various Creative And Tech Events Around Portland

All this in a column that I would call, somewhat bluntly, the Portland Creative/Tech Event Review (PC/TER).

Here goes nothing.

Mobile Portland

When: Monday, March 24, 2008 at 6:00 PM

Where: eROI conference room, perched atop what felt like climbing up fifteen flights of grey stairs in an otherwise nondescript and very cramped hallway—this, after incidentally bumping up into one of their staff at the place that they would sometimes mutter among themselves at lunchtimes and email litmus testing parties to be the “secret entrance.”

What it’s about: iPhone SDK and the ongoing debate whether how open or closed the platform really was, or is going to be. Bonus: a two-minute iPhone simulator demo that was met with a lot of cheer and desire to see more.

Technicality (on a scale of 1 to 5): ☝ ☝ ☝ ☝ ½
Translation: if you don’t know the technicalities of Cocoa and the zen of writing in Objective C, you’d be better off going next door. Either Backspace or Ground Kontrol will do and be infinitely more entertaining.

Interestingness (on a scale of 1 to 5): ☝ ☝ ☝ ☝
Translation: I’m a wannabe geek who desperately want to get in the Portland tech community even though I have to lie my heart off. Just kidding. Actually, even though I’m not a developer/coder by nature, I am very interested in the prospect of using the iPhone platform to evolve the data collection/aggregation part of Account Planning.

What I Learned From The Event In Six Words:
Jailbroken by NerveGas, Sanctioned By O’Reilly.

UPDATE: much thanks to Jason Grigsby (@grigs) whom I met tonight at PDXWI’s Publishing Platform Wars and had let me know that he linked to this review firsthand, which then brought more attention.

Standard